Not much has changed since my last post.  Work was, well, work (actually, I love my job, but that’s beside the point) and we’ve had yet another snowstorm.  As I write this, it’s 6 degrees.  Yes, I said 6 degrees.  In central Kentucky.  The kids were sent home from school two hours early Thursday and were off Friday, so perhaps my exaggeration of being in school till July was only a slight one.

I haven’t been online much this week.  Instead, I have been lost in my Kindle.  I’ve been on a western historical kick, and have read a couple great books.  Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold by Ellen O’Connell (here’s the link) was a wonderful story of love and triumph along with violence, cruelty and equality issues that kept me up till nearly 1am finishing it.  Of course, you know Amazon, so the second book I read was a recommendation and ended up being along the same line.  Harper’s Bride by Alexis Harrington (here’s the link) was an engrossing tale of overcoming abuse, the Yukon gold rush, unexpected love and lots of personal growth.

Reading the two back to back, I see some parallels in the storylines, in that the women are thrust into situations against their will with seemingly dangerous (although amazingly attractive) men that turn out to be blessings in disguise.  Both were new authors for me, and I’m hoping there are plenty more stories to discover with each.